Sunday, July 21, 2024

Bengaluru-Mysuru Highway to Introduce GPS-Based No-Toll-Booth Tolling System

The Bengaluru-Mysuru national highway has been chosen for the initiation of a pilot project featuring a GPS-based tolling system, as announced by Union Road Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari. Responding to BJP MP Lahar Singh Siroya’s inquiry, Gadkari revealed that the road transport ministry has engaged a consultant to offer advisory services for the adoption of advanced technologies, including Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS)-based barrier-less free-flow tolling.

The GNSS-based tolling system, as explained by Minister Gadkari, involves determining the vehicle’s position on the highway and calculating the user fee based on the distance traveled. The road transport ministry aims to launch pilot projects, including on the Bengaluru-Mysuru NH-275, to showcase this technology before the Lok Sabha polls.

Survey for 742-km Railway Network Around Bengaluru

In response to MP Lahar Singh’s question regarding suburban rail projects, Union Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw disclosed the approval of the Final Location Survey (FLS) for a comprehensive 742 km railway network to address the needs of commuters from satellite towns of Bengaluru. Vaishnaw provided details on the Bengaluru Suburban Rail Project (BSRP), encompassing four corridors:

  1. Corridor-1: KSR Bengaluru City – Devanahalli (41.4 Km)
  2. Corridor-2: Baiyyapanahalli – Chikkabanawara (25.01 Km)
  3. Corridor-3: Kengeri – Whitefield (35.52 Km)
  4. Corridor-4: Heelalige – Rajankunte (46.25 Km)

Minister Vaishnav highlighted progress, stating that land acquisition for Corridors 2 and 4 is complete. Construction is underway for Corridor-2, with recent tender awards for Corridor-4. Survey work and geotechnical investigations are completed for Corridors 1 and 3.

The Railway Minister further announced the sanctioning of the Final Location Survey (FLS) for various projects totaling 742 km, catering to the demands of commuters from satellite towns of Bengaluru. These projects encompass a new double-line circular rail network around Bengaluru City, quadrupling between Bengaluru – Tumakuru, doubling between Chikbanavar – Hassan, quadrupling between Bengaluru – Mysuru, and quadrupling between Bangarapet – Jolarpettai.

Related Articles

Latest Articles